cmsharpe.com

Cheryl's Spot on the Web - since September 1, 1997
Now at cmsharpe.com

Maine & Maritimes 2016

Maine, New Brunswick, Nova Scotia

Saturday, October 8 through Sunday, October 23

We flew from Oklahoma City, Oklahoma to Newark, New Jersey to Portland, Maine on Saturday, October 8. We drove from Portland to the Maritime Provinces of New Brunswick and Nova Scotia, then back into Maine. We spent about four days in Canada and about 10 days in Maine, mostly visiting Acadia National Park. We returned to Oklahoma City through Dulles International Airport, in Virginia, near Washington, D.C.

In the notes below, "(Acadia NP)" refers to Acadia National Park, Maine. Visiting Acadia National Park was the primary motivation for this trip, but a secondary motivation was to see southern New Brunswick in fall, along with central Nova Scotia.

I tracked this trip with a (new) Bad Elf GPS Pro+ GPSr (GPS receiver), with backup from either my iPhone 6 (using the Navigon app for driving) or my Garmin Oregon 600 (hiking/canoeing). Unless noted otherwise, all tracks presented here come from the Bad Elf. Note that the Bad Elf tends to produce very large GPX files, so the tracks presented via "view map" have been greatly simplified (in terms of file size, while retaining most of the track detail).

Topographic maps are denoted by a "(Topo)" link. Bright pink/magenta lines represent manually-powered transportation (e.g., canoe, hiking).

Unless specified otherwise, original GPX tracks are unedited.

Businesses are named below for reference only. No endorsement should be inferred. If you wish to see my opinion of the places mentioned, see TripAdvisor (for those that I have actually rated).

Overview

Saturday, October 8

Sunday, October 9

Monday, October 10—Thanksgiving Day (in Canada)

Tuesday, October 11

Wednesday, October 12

Thursday, October 13

Friday, October 14

Saturday, October 15

Sunday, October 16

Monday, October 17

Tuesday, October 18

Wednesday, October 19

Thursday, October 20

Friday, October 21

Saturday, October 22

Sunday, October 23

Valid HTML5! Valid CSS!