cmsharpe.com

Cheryl's Spot on the Web - since September 1, 1997
Now at cmsharpe.com

Maine 2018

Mount Desert Island/Acadia National Park, Maine

Saturday, October 6 through Tuesday, October 16, 2018

We flew from Oklahoma City, Oklahoma to Portland, Maine via Dulles International Airport in Virginia, near Washington DC. We spent the next nine days hiking on Mount Desert Island, mostly at Acadia National Park. We returned to Oklahoma City via Newark (New York City) International Airport, New Jersey.

I tracked the trip with a Bad Elf GPS Pro+ GPSr (GPS receiver), using my iPhone 8 (Gaia app) as a backup (along with the FlightAware and FlightRadar24 websites)..

NOTE: the downloadable GPX tracks are the full GPX files, while those shown on the provided "view map" links are simplified (with minimal effect on geographic accuracy) for much faster viewing.

Topographic maps are denoted by a "(Topo)" link. Bright pink/magenta lines represent manually-powered transportation (e.g., biking, hiking).

Original GPX tracks are unedited.

Businesses are named below for reference only. No endorsement should be inferred. If you wish to see my opinion of the places mentioned, see TripAdvisor (for those that I have actually rated).

Overview

Saturday, October 6

Sunday, October 7

Monday, October 8

Tuesday, October 9

Wednesday, October 10

Thursday, October 11

Friday, October 12

Saturday, October 13

Sunday, October 14

Monday, October 15

Tuesday, October 16

Valid HTML5! Valid CSS!