cmsharpe.com

Cheryl's Spot on the Web - since September 1, 1997
Now at cmsharpe.com

Maine 2020

Mount Desert Island/Acadia National Park, Maine

Saturday, October 3 through Sunday, October 18, 2020

We flew from Oklahoma City, Oklahoma to Boston, Massachusetts via Houston Intercontinental Airport in Texas. We spent two nights in Rockport, Maine, and the rest of the time at Northeast Harbor, Maine. Most days were spent hiking, mostly in Acadia National Park. We returned to Oklahoma City via O'Hare International Airport (Chicago, Illinois).

I tracked the trip with a Bad Elf GPS Pro+ GPSr (GPS receiver), using my iPhone 8 (Gaia app) as a backup (along with the FlightAware and FlightRadar24 websites).

NOTE: the downloadable GPX tracks are the full GPX files, while those shown on the provided "view map" links are simplified (with minimal effect on geographic accuracy) for much faster viewing.

Static topographic maps, based on the standard 1:24,000 USGS maps, are denoted by a "(Topo)" link. Bright pink/magenta lines represent manually-powered transportation (e.g., biking, hiking). North is up. To get a sense of scale, review the associated main map. Here are all the hikes in one such map: (Topo)

Original GPX tracks are unedited.

Businesses are named below for reference only. No endorsement should be inferred. If you wish to see my opinion of the places mentioned, see TripAdvisor (for those few that I have actually rated).

Overview

Saturday, October 3

Sunday, October 4

Monday, October 5

Tuesday, October 6

Wednesday, October 7

Thursday, October 8

Friday, October 9

Saturday, October 10

Sunday, October 11

Monday, October 12

Tuesday, October 13

Wednesday, October 14

Thursday, October 15

Friday, October 16

Saturday, October 17

Sunday, October 18

Valid HTML5! Valid CSS!